RainbowCrack

RainbowCrack

Updated:
13 February 2007
Risk Impact:
Low
Systems Affected:
Windows

Behavior


RainbowCrack is a password hash cracker. It precomputes all password - hash pairs in rainbow tables. RainbowCrack looks up the hash of the password in the precomputed tables, greatly reducing the amount of time taken to crack a password.

Symptoms


Your Symantec program detects RainbowCrack.

Behavior


RainbowCrack must be manually installed.

Antivirus Protection Dates

  • Initial Rapid Release version 02 October 2014 revision 022
  • Latest Rapid Release version 01 February 2015 revision 020
  • Initial Daily Certified version 17 May 2006
  • Latest Daily Certified version 29 October 2010 revision 003
  • Initial Weekly Certified release date 17 May 2006
Click here for a more detailed description of Rapid Release and Daily Certified virus definitions.

When RainbowCrack is installed, it performs the following actions:
  1. Uses precomputed or rainbow tables, to crack passwords.

  2. Requires more memory to store the precomputed tables. Precomputed tables reduces the time required to break passwords from days to minutes. The more complex a password is, the longer it takes the security risk to crack it. If a password is simple, such as a dictionary word, it may take just seconds to crack.



The following instructions pertain to all Symantec antivirus products that support security risk detection.
  1. Update the definitions.
  2. Run a full system scan.
For specific details on each of these steps, read the following instructions.

1. To update the definitions
To obtain the most recent definitions, start your Symantec program and run LiveUpdate.


2. To run the scan
  1. Start your Symantec antivirus program, and then run a full system scan.
  2. If any files are detected, and depending on which software version you are using, you may see one or more of the following options:

    Note: This applies only to versions of Norton AntiVirus that support security risk detection. If you are running a version of Symantec AntiVirus Corporate Edition that supports security risk detection, and security risk detection has been enabled, you will only see a message box that gives the results of the scan. If you have questions in this situation, contact your network administrator.
    • Exclude (Not recommended): If you click this button, it will set the risk so that it is no longer detectable. That is, the antivirus program will keep the security risk on your computer and will no longer detect it to remove from your computer.

    • Ignore or Skip: This option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only. It will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

    • Cancel: This option is new to Norton Antivirus 2005. It is used when Norton Antivirus 2005 has determined that it cannot delete a security risk. This Cancel option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only, and thus, the risk will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

      To actually delete the security risk:
      • Click its file name (under the Filename column).
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

    • Delete: This option will attempt to delete the detected files. In some cases, the scanner will not be able to do this.
      • If you see a message, "Delete Failed" (or similar message), manually delete the file.
      • Click the file name of the risk that is under the Filename column.
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

Important: If you are unable to start your Symantec antivirus product or the product reports that it cannot delete a detected file, you may need to stop the risk from running in order to remove it. To do this, run the scan in Safe mode. For instructions, read the document, How to start the computer in Safe Mode . Once you have restarted in Safe mode, run the scan again.

After the files are deleted, restart the computer in Normal mode.

`